cracklaugh
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
diaryland
2004-09-19
57 Varieties


Today is my parent's 57th wedding anniversary. Congratulations to those crazy kids!


In this photo, my mom is smiling in her beautiful way and my dad, though he looks like he is laughing, is really fake crying, just one second away from laughing. I thank my dad for my own perfect fake crying skills though I don't look as cute as he does in the process. He's also my toughest audience when I fake-cry to him as when I call him and he says, "We were just talking about you." "Anything good?", I ask. "Not a thing," he says brightly, and goes into his next line. No room for fake crying there.


One of my favorite sounds in the word is to hear my mom and dad laughing. Sometimes, they do a little routine of bicker, laugh, bicker, pause, laugh, bicker, big laugh. They've reached that point after 684 months together when they have reduced their arguments into two second soundbites. The laughing lasts a lot longer.


They are masters at the daily practice of love -- the little things that weave into the bigger things. They hold hands a lot, just sitting around the house. Today, to celebrate their 20,805th day together they took a drive to Mattapoisett to eat some chowder.


This was their song in 1947 when they got married. They chose it, they say, because of the meaningful words and because at the time, they had a good friend who sang it beautifully.
When you walk through a storm, hold your head up high
And don't be afraid of the dark
At the end of the storm, is a golden light
And the sweet silver voice from a lark

Walk on through the rain,
Walk on through the wind
Though your dreams be lost and torn
Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone.
Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone.

Happy 57 Love Years, Mom and Dad!

last - next