cracklaugh
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
diaryland
2003-07-19
In some undefined space, at first. I�m aware of the presence of many friends and family, including M. M is my husband in Wakeville but in this configuration I feel for that connection and it�s not there. That is, I know I�m married to him but I�m not. See?

So, there are all these people, but only in a thought-projection kind of way. Then, I turn my head (metaphorically speaking) and there is this tall lanky guy in the dreamflesh. He looks high-school age and it dawns on me that I must be in high school too. Sure, sure.

I know immediately this guy likes me. He�s got great affection for me and I�m nice but not too. I hardly know him and don�t want to lead him on.

We�re in his house. He lives with his mother, that much is clear to me without any discussion. His house is built one room on top of the other like a beehive. It�s open inside. He wants to show it to me so he grabs me about the waist and starts leaping up, stepping on footholds and household objects.

We pass by a toaster oven that is hanging on the wall, much like you and I would hang a picture in a frame, and I open the door. There is a little pizza in there, warming up. Way up are the bedrooms and we bounce on and off some mattresses to keep going higher. It seems endless and it�s quite a workout, even for me, supported as I am. He doesn�t do anything flashy, like somersaults. I feel very secure in his one long arm.

The whole time I am thinking, wow, this is incredible. This is amazing. This could be tricky for parties.

We don�t reach the top, don�t ask me why. We�re just at the bottom again, and he reluctantly releases me from about the waist. He's sad and I can't tell if it's because my Wakeville life came storming in and he knows I'm married or it's because I left the toaster oven door open.

There�s a reason for what happens next, but I can�t tell you what it is. It�s not like I forgot, it�s more that it never was in anything like words. All I know is I have to get past these ducks. Lots of them. And they are fighting ducks. They snap and bite, and it�s painful. Lanky guy tells me this. He also tells me how to beat the ducks at their own game. Hold onto the bill, he says, keep it shut.

I head off through the fortress of ducks. I have to, it's part of my destiny. Immediately, I must put my training to use as those ducks start snapping. The strategy works. I�ve got two ducks firmly by the bill and they can do nothing. They are defeated. However, the rest of their gang takes advantage of the fact that I only have two hands and keep up their attack.

I wake up in an air-conditioned sweat.

(dream interpretations welcome, email me, please!)

last - next