cracklaugh
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
diaryland
2008-01-31
It's Thursday, five days since the M left and eight more days before he gets back. I have settled into a routine, of course, and it's getting a little boring. Unfortunately, it's not the kind of boring that kicks me into doing something like rock climbing or wig-wearing. I'm becoming one with the bed.

Best line of recent note. Saw my dear friend Siobhan for the first time in many months. She was catching me up on her life. Many changes including job ending and getting married last August. "In September I napped," she said. A month of napping? Sounds delish.

Saturday me and the boys will head down to Westwood again for an overnight with Mom. It will just be the four of us this weekend. Last weekend, Chrissy and Andre were there too and it did get a little much. A little.

Mom is changing. She came into the den with a sweater and jacket on a hanger. "Do you think this is good for church tomorrow?" she asked. It was, the best Sara May colors of deep pink and purple. About 20 minutes later she called me in her room and had two such outfits laying on her bed, including the first one. "I don't know what to wear to church tomorrow," she said. "Which do you think?" I picked out the original one and gently (I think) asked if she had changed her mind about wearing it. "Oh that's right," she said. We ended up picking another one anyway, but it was a flag-filled encounter.

In the nursing home she rehabbed in (broken hip), one side of the hall was the rehab patients and the other side the permanent residents. Across the hall from my Mom's room was a woman my family knew slightly. Nancy has lived there for a few years and was diagnosed with Alzheimer's several years before that.

She is a cheerful woman. Andre visited her every time he came to see his Nana. He brought in his Star Wars figures and wore his witch hat on Hallowe'en and showed her his school papers and she loved everything. He would also play bad guys with her. He would shoot her with his little hand shaped like a gun. "Gotcha," he said. She would slump in her wheelchair and shut her eyes and play dead. Then they would laugh.


last - next