cracklaugh
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
diaryland
2003-09-29
Name and link dropping on almost our first

I was just in Bell�s Market and �Every Kinda People� came on the radio as I was picking out my yogurt. I am sad Robert Palmer is dead. What�s going on with 54-year-old white men � first John Ritter, now Robert Palmer? Could it be that 1970s living is catching up with some? I watched a two-hour biography on David Bowie recently and Tony Visconti, who was Hypeman when David Bowie�s band was called David Bowie and The Hype, spoke about how no one knew cocaine was bad for you. I just love that kind of innocence. Was there some other substance around then that was like cocaine and was healthy? Were there snortable vitamins? If so, I missed it. I missed the whole thing. Good for me.

M and I were in Great Barrington this weekend. We went because Olu Dara played at Club Helsinki. We love Olu and we love the Helsinki so it was Double Love Overload.

We had a chance to speak briefly with Olu as he was setting up. In addition to being a wonderful musician he is the father of Nas, a hip-hop rap performer who is very popular. M and Olu could speak to that whole thing.

Then in walked...hmmm...someone. M recognized him but couldn't remember his name and I did not recognize him or remember his name. M chatted him up anyway, very nicely done, and I chatted with his friend Tair. It turned out to be Avery Brooks. FYI, Avery Brooks played Captain Benjamin Sisko, the Starfleet Captain in charge of the Deep Space Nine space station on Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. He also was in American History X, one of M�s most-watched films and he does a one-man show on Paul Robeson which I would like to see. As soon as M remembered his name was Avery, I thought of Avery labels of course. If you work in an office you know what I mean.

Later on, I had my own kind of recognition moment. I am 95% sure I saw Brooke Adams at the Helsinki. You remember her right? She was in Raiders of the Lost Ark? Well, she looked great. Long, reddish hair and a groovy Indian shirt and she just bopped around. M and I wondered, would she and Avery know each other, some kind of celeb radar? They did not seem to even do a head nod, but who knows?

Turns out though it was Karen Allen, not Brooke Adams. Jeesh! Karen started a yoga center in the Berkshires many years ago and is also an accomplished knitter. I saw the shirt she was wearing for sale the next day in Gatsby�s selling for $136.

Olu, Avery and Tair wished M and I a Happy Anniversary. Officially, it�s October 5th. We were celebrating early, getting the leg up on our first anniversary.

Paper is the first anniversary "gift" traditionally. I don't know who made all that stuff up. But one idea is to give framed stock with a little personalized plaque. Several companies offer this. One of my favorites is "Happy Paper First Anniversary/Sharing our LUV together" beneath a Home Depot stock certificate. Happy Almost First M!!!

last - next