cracklaugh
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
diaryland
2004-06-30
Shameless gloating from Aunt Tally

Latest Andre news from my sister:

Andre�s teachers are Miss Heather and Miss Sue. Last week, Andre mistakenly called Miss Sue Miss Heather. Miss Sue said "Andre, my name isn't Miss Heather you silly goose. My name is Miss Sue. I'm going to call you a different name - Nathan." So the game began.

This morning I dropped him off at school � he had on his blue flag baseball cap. He walked over to the real Miss Sue, twisted his cap to the side and said, "Hi, Miss Heather. What my name? When my hat like this, I Nathan.� He twisted his cap to the front and said, with perfect comic timing, �When my hat like this, my name is Andre".

The kid�s got talent. Here he is, presumably as Nathan.

He and I have a small but choice repertoire of songs. Last year, when he was two, it was �Row, row, row your boat.� I was the lead but his styling on back-up gave us the original rhyme of �tream� and �dream.� His �merrily merrily merrily merrily� was unforgettable.

We briefly scored with �Clementine.� He played around with this one, suddenly bursting forth with �Oh my darlin�� when he was picking up �tones (stones) and pixing (fixing) things. We only knew the one verse and it was always a little sketchy. It had heart though.

One day, on a whim, I sang part of �Chantilly Lace� to him and he acted cool, but soon asked me, �Long neck goose?� He likes me to sing it in a very fast tempo and then ask �More?� which keeps our band on its toes.

But our biggest near-hit is an original by yours truly, concocted on a bike ride. Simply called �Fat Headed Baby,� it brings to mind the early rock �n roll days, those simpler times. It goes:

I got a fat headed baby (ooh ooh ooh)

I got a fat headed baby (ooh ooh ooh)

(chord change)

I got a fat headed baby (ooh ooh ooh)

I got a fat headed baby (ooh ooh ooh)

(repeat for as long as you can stand it)

With a fat bum too

(Important to end on a cresendo).

The kid sings it �I got a pat headed baby� and let me tell you, it makes all the difference.

Here he is, all smiley charming, asking the paparazzi to back off.

last - next